Key Features of the CCP Curriculum for JHS1 to SHS1


The Common Core Programme (CCP) Curriculum is a four-year education programme designed to offer learners in Basic 7 to Basic 10 (JHS1 – SHS1) the opportunity to prepare for higher education and the world of work or both.

Check This Out:  How to Print Colleges of Education Admission Letter for 2020/21 Academic Year


It’s made up of nine learning areas, namely: Languages, Mathematics, Science, Creative Arts and Design, Computing, Career Technology, Physical and Health Education, Social Studies and Religious and Moral Education.

Why the Common Core Programme (CCP) Curriculum

There are reasons for the introduction of the Common Core Programme (CCP) Curriculum.

Notable among them include:

  1. To prepare Learners adequately for a career pathway or further Academic Progression.
  2. To focus on assessing knowledge, skills, attitudes and values with Emphasis on what the learners can do.
  3. To produce a new generation of high school graduates with the requisite 21st-century skills, workplace ethos and employable skills.
  4. To ensure a seamless progression for all learners from Junior High School to Senior High School.

Check This Out:  University of Ghana appoints Dr. Elsie Effah Kaufmann, Associate Professor

Key Features of the Common Core Programme (CCP) Curriculum

These are the key features of the Common Core Programme (CCP) Curriculum.

  1. All Learners learn nine (9) Core Subjects fro JHS1 to SHS1.
  2. Introduction of Religious and Moral Education, Career Technology and Physical and Health Education (PHE)  all learners fro KJHS1 to SHS1.
  3. Curriculum is designed around building character and nurturing values such as respect, diversity, equity, commitment to achieve excellence, truth and integrity.
  4. Promotion of emotional, social, physical and psychological well being, cognitive growth, and judgement through guidance and counselling.
  5. Integration of Project Work, community service and engagements as part of a comprehensive learner assessment that emphasizes doing.


Get the Ghana Education Service New Standard – Based Scheme of Learning (SOL) HERE

Get the Ghana Education Service New Standard – Based Curriculum HERE

Get the  WAEC Marking SchemesHERE

Get the NaCCA/GES Standard -Based Lesson PlansHERE

Get the WAEC BECE, WASSCE, NTC Licensure Exam and Teachers’ Promotion Exam Past Questions HERE

Leave a Reply