UNESCO International Literacy Prizes 2019 for Innovative Literacy Projects – APPLY HERE!

UNESCO is calling for applications and nominations for its two prestigious International Literacy Prizes for the 2019 edition.

Application Deadlines:

16th June 2019 for applications
23th June 2019 for nominations by nominating agencies

Offered Annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: All

To be taken at (country): Paris, France

About the Award: This year’s theme is ‘Literacy and Multilingualism’.

The promotion of multilingualism as an asset for both literacy and educational development in general and more particularly Sustainable Development Goal 4 (SDG4) and its target 4.6 in terms of inclusivity quality and expanding access.

Multilingual education facilitates access to education while promoting equity for populations speaking minority and/or indigenous languages, especially girls and women.

Through two prestigious Prizes, UNESCO supports effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies to close the literacy gap of approximately 750 millions of people.

UNESCO distinguishes between two Literacy Prizes which are given to five laureates:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards), was established in 1989 and is supported by the Government of the Republic of Korea.

It gives special consideration to programmes that focus on the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards), was established in 2005, and is supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China.

This Prize recognizes programmes that promote adult literacy, especially in rural areas and for out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Type: Contest

Eligibility: Candidates should take into account this year’s theme – literacy and Multilingualism – and also consider the special focus of each Prize.

Institutions, organizations and individuals promoting literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.

Eligible programmes or projects who have a proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.

Programmes/projects that have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.

Number of Awards: 5

Value of Program: Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.

The UNESCO International Literacy Prizes are awarded in an official ceremony on the occasion of the International Literacy Day.

How to Apply: Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals are kindly invited to apply.

All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the programme, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO.

Applications can be submitted via the online platform, detailed information about the application and nomination process is to be found on the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes’ website.

Visit Program Webpage for details


What's your take on this Latest Development?