Margaret McNamara Educational Grants (Africa Program) 2020 for African Women – Apply Here!

Margaret McNamara Educational Grants (Formerly Margaret McNamara Memorial Fund) “Africa Program” scholarship applications for female students from African Countries to assist women pursue their education with the aim of improving the lives of these women and children.

Application Deadline: 14th September 2019

Offered annually? Yes

Accepted Fields of Study: Any field of study

To be taken at (University):

University of the Witwatersrand,
University of Cape Town
University of Stellenbosch
University of Pretoria
University of the Free State

About the Award: The Margaret McNamara Educational Grants (MMEG) provides grants to women from developing countries to help further their education and strengthen their leadership skills to improve the lives of women and children in developing countries.

About $15,000 Education grants are awarded to women from developing and middle-income countries who, upon obtainment of their degree, intend to return to or remain in their countries, or other developing countries, and work to improve the lives of women and/or children.

Type: Grants

Offered Since: 1981

Who is qualified to apply? Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

Be at least 25 years old at time of application deadline (see specific regional program application below);
Be a national of a country listed on the MMEG Country Eligibility List (listed below);
Be enrolled at an accredited academic institution when submitting application; and plan to be enrolled for a full academic term after award of the grant by the Board;

Not be related to a World Bank Group, International Monetary Fund or Inter-American Development Bank staff member or spouse;

In addition to the above criteria, an applicant must:

already be enrolled part time (minimum of 2 courses per semester or term) or full time at one of the universities listed below, and be enrolled for the following academic year (January to December or September to May) at one of the following universities:

University of the Witwatersrand,
University of Cape Town
University of Stellenbosch
University of Pretoria
University of the Free State

Applicants applying from eligible countries other than South Africa must already hold a study permit for South Africa.

Estimated expenses should be calculated and expressed in Rand

Number of Scholarships: Not Specified

Scholarship benefits: Approximately $15,000 per scholarship recipient

Duration: The grant is a onetime award to last for the duration of study

Eligible Countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Rep., Chad, Congo, Dem. Rep., Congo, Rep, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt , Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Somalia, South Africa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

How to Apply: Remember to read the Application Checklist & FAQs before applying and select the “South Africa” in the first question of the application. If the program name does not appear, the program may be closed to new applications.


Visit Scholarship webpage for details

Previous articleGIJ partners FAO to develop course on environment
Next articleStudy in Switzerland: Nestlé MBA Scholarships 2020/2021 for Women in Developing Countries
Avatar of Ellis Ferdinand
Ellis Ferdinand is a Journalist, Blogger and Founder of Ellis Multimedia, a parent company of, an Online Education News Blog, and Ellis Ferdinand is a Graduate of Accra College of Education and the University of Cape Coast, where he obtained a Diploma In Basic Education and a Bachelor of Education in Accounting. He is currently Reading his Master of Philosophy in Curriculum and Pedagogic Studies at the University of Education, Winneba in Ghana. Ellis Ferdinand won Blogger of the Year at the 2018 National Students’ Awards and was also adjudged 14th Best Ghanain Blogger in 2018 among the Top 50 Ghanaian Bloggers of 2018. He introduced the Concept of Education Blogging in Ghana in 2014 with his famous blog now His Blog won Best Media Promoting Education in 2017, 2018 and 2019 respectively, an Award organized by Neogenics Education Consult. In 2019, He adjudged the Most Promising West African Blogger of the Year in Nigeria. He won Writer of the Year at the 2021 EDUCOM AWARDS

Leave a Reply