Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme 2020/2021 Postgraduate Scholarship for Young Africans

The Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme 2020/2021 to nurture future African leaders, women and men, is now open.

Application Deadline: 28th August 2019

Eligible Countries: Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

To be Taken at (Country): Ireland

Field(s) of Study: The final directory of programmes will be available in early August. Choose from courses in areas such as agriculture, health, education, human rights, computer science, engineering, business and more.

About the Award: Through the programme, early career professional women and men, with leadership potential, from eligible countries will avail of relevant postgraduate study opportunities in Irish higher education institutions.

On completion of their studies, graduates will have acquired relevant skills and knowledge and be better capacitated and positioned to influence the advancement of national social, economic and development priorities.

Fostering women’s leadership capacity will be a priority. On return, graduates are expected to resume work and put their acquired skills into good use for the benefit of their home countries

Studying at postgraduate level in Ireland offers a unique opportunity to join programmes that are driving innovation and changing lives worldwide.

Applicants can choose from almost 200 postgraduate programmes specially selected to enhance capacity in line with stated country development goals and the strategy of the Irish Embassy.

The range of courses includes development studies, gender studies, climate related rural development, health care, education and strategic management.

Type: Masters

Eligibility: To be eligible for an Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme scholarship commencing at the beginning of the academic year 2020 applicants must:

Be a resident national of one of the following countries: Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Have a minimum of two or three years’ relevant work experience (this can include internships and volunteering positions), depending on the country (details provided in the application form).

Check  This Out:Government of Italy Bachelors, Masters, PhD Scholarships 2019/2020 for Students with International Protection

Hold a bachelor’s level academic qualification from an accredited and government-recognised higher education institution, with a minimum grade point average of 75% – i.e. a first class honour, or second class honour, Grade 1 (in some cases a second class honour Grade 2 may be accepted).

Not already hold a qualification at master’s level or higher.
Be applying to commence a new course at master’s level in Ireland no sooner than August/September 2020.

Be able to demonstrate leadership abilities and aspirations, as well as commitment to the achievement of the SDGs within your own country.
Have identified and selected two relevant courses from the Ireland-Africa Fellows Programme Directory of Eligible Courses.

Check This Out:University of Pretoria MasterCard Scholarships (Masters) 2020 for African Students

Have a clear understanding of the academic and English language proficiencies required for both courses chosen.

Must not have applied for any Irish Aid Fellowship programme on more than one previous occasion.

Be in a position to take up the scholarship in the academic year 2020/2021.

Number of Awards: Not specified

Value and Duration of Award: The programme offers selected students the opportunity to undertake a fully-funded one-year master’s programme at a prestigious higher education institution (HEI) in Ireland. The award covers course fees, flights, and accommodation and living costs.

Eligible master’s courses in Ireland commence in August or September each year and, depending on the course, will run for between 10 and 16 months. The Programme promotes equal opportunity and welcomes diversity.

How to Apply: Please read the Applicants Guidance Note carefully before completing as eligibility criteria may differ from country to country.

The application process consists of three stages:

Stage 1 Preliminary Application;
Stage 2 Detailed Application;
Stage 3 Interviews.

All applicants who are selected to go forward to second stage will be required to sit an IELTS exam, unless they are already in possession of an IELTS certificate that is dated 2018 or later at the time of application which shows the applicant has achieved the necessary score for the course they intend to apply to. Early preparation for the IELTS exam is strongly advised, even for native English speakers.

It is important to go through all application requirements in the Award Webpage (see Link below) before applying.


Visit Award Webpage for Details


Discover more from EducationGhana

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

What's your take on this Latest Development?